Special sushi roll

3 Feb

Today is a “Setsu-bun” day in Japan.
We eat a special sushi roll called “Eho-maki”.
Do you know sushi rolls?
I was really surprised when I saw many people eating them and walking on the street in Australia two years ago.
Anyway, it’s one of most famous Japanese foods.
We put rice on a squared dried seaweed and roll them with a raw seafood or vegetable, or both.

In Eho-maki, we put cucumber, grilled egg, mushroom, kampyo (dried gourd), ells, and so on.
It’s thicker than a normal suhi roll. So we also call it “Futo(thick)-maki”.
And the most important thing is the direction you look when you eat Eho-maki.
The direction is called “Eho” (literally “fortune direction”) and it changes every year. This year’s Eho is north north west.
It’s said that your dream will come true if you’re looking at Eho and praying your dream or favor, and you never speak until you finish eating it.
And you shouldn’t cut it because it’s said that cutting it means cutting the connection with happiness.

And eating Eho-maki is only popular in Kansai area in Japan.

I eat Eho-maki on Setsu-bun day every year.
I ate it this year, too.
But, ah, now, I have to tell you something.
I wrote this in the train in my way home, you know, before I ate an Eho-maki.
However, I forgot to look at Eho during eating… I completely forgot it…
Actually, I was absorbed in watching a drama which my most favorite actor is on.
(The drama, “Lucky Seven”, is broadcast every Monday in Japan.
I finnaly watched the latest episode tonight because I didn’t have enough time to watch it this week.
That’s why, I was so excited with it. In addition, this drama is very exciting and heartwarming.)
But no matter how I watched it with great excitement, how could I forget what I was thinking a few minutes ago so easily?
I was shocked. But I don’t mind so much because the Eho-maki was delicious.

Leave a Reply

