The global gender gaps

28 Oct

According to the global gender gap report 2012, Japan ranked 101st out of 135 countries.
They examined four fundamental categories: economic participation and opportunity, educational attainment, health and survival and political empowerment. Although Japan did not rank so worse in health and survival category (34th; I think it’s still bad), it ranked 102nd in economic participation and opportunity, 81st in educational attainment, and 110th in political empowerment.
I didn’t think the gender gap in Japan is small, but I didn’t believe that Japan ranked worse like this.
How disappointing!
I think Japan can hardly be regarded as a developed country.
On the other hand, this result also encourages me somehow…
Although I might exaggerate, I think it would be enough that I can be proud of myself, not my nation.

Unfortunately I don’t have enough time to read this interesting report in detail.
http://www.weforum.org/reports/global-gender-gap-report-2012

Leave a Reply

